02 May, 2009

Turner Prize 2009 Shortlist Announced

Posted by: admin In: Art Switch

Roger Hiorn’s is one of the four nominated artists

The four shortlisted artists were announced for one of the biggest art prizes of the year have been announced this week and are as follows: Enrico David, Roger Hiorns, Lucy Skaer and Richard Wright. The prize is held annually and open awards ‘a British artist under fifty for an outstanding exhibition or other presentation of their work in the twelve months preceding’. The Turner Prize has been running since 1984 and has seen the likes of Damien Hirst, Rachel Whiteread, Anthony Gormley, Grayson Perry and Anish Kapoor take home the prize money. This year the £40,000 prize fund will be split into £25,000 for the overall winner and £5000 for the other shortlisted artists.You can read more about the projects that the artists were nominated for by clicking here. Take particular notice to the scale of Roger Hiorns Seizure project in which the artist transformed a derelict flat into a crystal covered cave. The winner will be announced in December 2009.

Read the original post on the Art Switch Blog

No Responses to "Turner Prize 2009 Shortlist Announced"

Comment Form


Flickr PhotoStream

    Fairy of the middle of Winter/ Яварь Середина-Зимыnozzle head trioLars MikkelsenCountry house and waterfalls - The majolica cloister of Santa Chiara in Naples (years 1739-1742) - Architect Domenico Antonio Vaccaro - Painters Giuseppe and Donato MassaCyborg Dude with Autodesk Sketchbook Pro & iPadKnock Out Game175. The Carlyle Hotel, South BeachPájaro N°3Quasi PrimaveraFfunny FfriendsCatch!American DreamA Blessing


HaggBridge.com brings you a daily update of news from art world, focused on UK based artists, exhibitions, and galleries.